Open popup pages in new tabs

Aug 23, 2010 at 9:45 AM

Hello Everyone,

I have a requirement that MSCRM should be fully contained within the customer care solution.

For example, if a user opens an open case from the contact records assosiated view then it should not open in a popup.

The best solution would be that any popup pages open in a new tab in the current call/session.

Is this possible without too much rewriting of the agent desktop? My guess would be that I may be able to catch the event of the window openning then start a new tab within a sequentail workflow but I am not sure what event, and how to open the new tab with the URL?

Thanks & kindest regards,
Johan

Aug 23, 2010 at 2:03 PM

You can do this a few ways.
1) Use HAT and register for one of the NewWindow Events via the RegisterForEvent shape. You can find more information on that in the UII Development guide… search for WEB DDA EVENTS

2) Use a web application adapter and override the “OnNewWindow” event… in my sample event I am capturing only a few types of windows from CRM and allowing others to pop up on their own.

/// <summary>
/// Handel window popup. 
/// </summary>
/// <param name="newURL">Requested URL</param>
/// <param name="fromURL">Orginating page</param>
/// <param name="flags">Options</param>
/// <returns>True to Navigate, false to block it</returns>
public override bool OnNewWindow(string newURL, string fromURL, long flags)
{
    // Diag adapter and event to Log. 
    System.Diagnostics.Trace.WriteLine(string.Format("{0} >> NEW WINDOW RAISED >> {1}", this.Name, string.IsNullOrEmpty(newURL) ? "No URL" : newURL));
    if (!string.IsNullOrEmpty(newURL))
    {
        // Do I care about this window?
        if (newURL.Contains("sfa/accts") || newURL.Contains("cs/cases")
                || newURL.Contains("sfa/conts") || newURL.Contains("ma/campaignresponse")
            || newURL.Contains("sfa/salesorder")
            || newURL.Contains("userdefined/")
            )
        {